住宿

您在新西兰住一段时间之后,也许想换换住宿环境。有关留学生住宿类型的详细说明参见下表。有关住宿的进一步资料,请浏览:www.mynzed.com,登录‘一般信息’(generalinformation),然后查看右栏的‘住宿’(accommodation)(也可查看中文版网页)。

如果您不满18周岁,教育机构可为您评估住宿地点。

公寓

有个人居住的房间或居室。公寓提供膳食,可能是集体就餐。您可以自由出入。可能要求您自己收拾房间,也可能没有这方面的要求。要保持房屋整洁。

寄宿家庭

您与寄宿的家庭一起生活。您将成为家庭中的一员,要帮助他们做点家务,并遵守主人制定的一些生活规则,如就寝时等。大家一起进餐。寄宿对提高您的英语水平有很大帮助,因为在寄宿家庭里您要用英语交流。

宿舍

有个人居住房间或与人合住。在公共食堂就餐。房间卫生有人打扫,但您要保持室内整洁。通常位于校园附近。

合租公寓

您个人承租或与他人合租的房子或单元住宅 (与非家庭关系或夫妇关系的人一起居住的房子称为公寓)。公寓通常没有家具。房间可以个人居住,或与人合住。房租一般按屋子的面积计算。所有其他费用分摊,厨房与洗衣间通常共用。

在家庭寄宿生活 – 征求意见


在寄宿家庭生活,对于家庭主人和您本人来说都是一种新的体验。您有什么问题可与主人进行交流,避免生产误会。征求他们的意见是否需要您做些什么。例如,打扫房间之类的家务事是否需要您帮忙。询问主人是否有忌讳的食物,干净的衣服放在何处,是否可以使用电话和计算机。有些情况下,您需要自己安装一部电话,买一台计算机。女孩子还应了解卫生用品如何处置。您还要向主人了解什么时间洗澡、洗衣服最合适。新西兰通常每天只提供10分钟热洗澡水。新西兰电费比较贵,有些电加热器无人看管时会发生危险。如果您使用电热毯暖床,睡着后仍然接通电源非常不安全。

合租公寓 – 自己租房


合租公寓或准备住未经教育机构审查的宿舍之前,一定要慎重考虑。合租公寓可以使您的生活更方便,但也很难再有属于自己个人的学习环境。如果搬到一个空的公寓(生活设施不齐全的房间),还需要联系接通电源/气源,安装电话,这些费用都需要您自己承担。而且,还要购买家具。大部分房东要求租用期为一年以上。为保护房东和房客双方的利益,政府制定了订立租约的制度,您要为签订租约支付费用。

新西兰租约服务部可为初次租房的人提供房屋租赁方面的信息。有关新西兰房屋租赁方面的进一步资料,请浏览新西兰租赁服务部网站:www.tenancy.govt.nz

其他信息,请浏览:http://www.minhousing.govt.nz/tenancy/info.html。

包括中文在内,各种语言的租赁资料,请浏览:http://www.minhousing.govt.nz/tenancy/Renting-and-You/Chinese/chi_home.html。

Where to stay

Once you have been in New Zealand for a while, you may decide to change your accommodation. The table below gives a brief explanation of the different sorts of accommodation available to international students. For more information go to: www.mynzed.com, click on ‘general information’, then ‘accommodation’ in the right column (also available in Chinese).

If you are under 18 years of age your education provider will assess available accommodation for you.
Type

What it's like?

Private board


You have your own room in a private residential home or boarding house. Meals are provided, and probably shared. You are free to come and go as you please. You may or may not be expected to help with household chores. You will usually be expected to care for your own room.


Homestay

You live with a family in their home. You will be treated like one of the family and expected to help out with household chores and to oblige to the rules set by your host parents such as curfews. Mealtimes will be shared together. Homestays are great for helping with your English because you will need to speak English in the home.
Halls of residence


Hostel

You have your own room or share with another. Meals will be provided in a communal dining room. Cleaning services are provided, but you will be expected to care for your own room. Usually located on campus or nearby.

Flatting
You rent a house or apartment (any building where people live together, who are not a family or couple, is called a flat) either on your own or with others. Flats are usually unfurnished. You will have your own room, or may share with another. The rent is usually worked out according to the size of the room. All other expenses are divided, and cooking meals and cleaning is usually shared.


Living in a homestay - some questions to ask
If you live in a homestay, remember, having you in the house may also be a new experience for your host family, as well as for you. Talk with your hosts about any worries you have so that any misunderstandings can be avoided. Ask them what is expected of you regarding, for example, helping with chores around the house. Ask about the food you will be having, where to put dirty clothes, and whether you can use the telephone and computer. In some instances you may need to purchase your own telephone line and computer. Girls may want to ask where to dispose of sanitary items. You may also want to ask what the best time for you is to have a shower and to do your laundry. Generally, in New Zealand there is only enough hot water to have a 10 minute shower each day. Electricity in New Zealand in expensive and some types of heaters are dangerous to leave unattended. If you are using an electric blanket to warm your bed, it is dangerous to leave it on while you’re asleep.


Flatting - renting accommodation for yourself
Think carefully before considering sharing a flat (see above description) or organising accommodation which has not been checked out by your education provider. A flat will give you more freedom, but it will probably be harder for you to find private study time. If you move into an empty flat (rather than take a room in one that is already set up) you will need to arrange the power (electricity) and/or gas, and the phone, and be responsible for paying for them. You may also need to buy furniture. Many landlords require a lease of one year or more. The government operates a bond system for the protection of both landlords and tenants, so you will need to pay a bond too.

The New Zealand Tenancy Service has really useful information on renting, designed for people who need to know the basics about renting for the first time. To view further information about renting, go to the New Zealand Tenancy Service website: www.tenancy.govt.nz .

Other useful information is located at: http://www.minhousing.govt.nz/tenancy/info.html Tenancy information is also available in a number of languages including Chinese.
Go to:http://www.minhousing.govt.nz/tenancy/Renting-and-You/Chinese/chi_home.html