资金问题

新西兰人随身不携带大量现金,家里存放的现金也不多,因为他们认为这样很不安全 (此处大量现金指超过300 美元)。大额现金存在银行帐户中。新西兰严守您的帐户及详细存款资料的机密。只有您本人及您授权的用户才可以访问您的帐户及详细存款资料。

为了便于管理现金,建议您将学费直接付给就读的教育机构,然后由家里按月给您寄生活费。

不要向其他人透露您的财务状况。在新西兰,个人财务问题属于私事,彼此之间不讨论,即使是朋友也是如此。如果您的钱花光了,可与学校主管学生福利的教师或部门联系。他们会向您提供具体建议。并且,您还需与家庭取得联系。

新西兰币

新西兰元是新西兰国内的流通货币。比新西兰元小的货币单位为分,100 分 = 1元。货币符号:$ =元,c =分。新西兰国内流通的钞票和硬币包括:$5、$10、$20、$50 和$100 钞票;5c、10c、20c、50c、$1 和$2硬币。

银行开户

新西兰各大银行几乎都开设留学生业务,提供中文服务资料。许多银行还有讲汉语的留学生业务主管。大部分银行希望了解您及您的家庭在国内银行的“储蓄记录”。您应该携带银行存款证明、帐户证明文件,如结算单、您的护照和证明新西兰学校录取您的文件。您就读的学校可能已为您安排好指定银行,以便于您处理有关事务。

花钱要当心

初到新西兰的两个月一定要当心,在掌握今后几个月的开销之前不要乱花钱。以保证有足够的现金储备完成学业。 如果您需要有人帮助管理现金,可与学校主管学生福利的教师或部门联系,请他们为您提出预算建议。
借钱 – 不要把钱借给任何人

银行手续费

银行向客户收取金融服务的手续费(如帐户管理费和交易手续费)。银行一般周一至周五上午9:00 至下午 4:30营业。但客户可以通过自动柜员机24 小时访问自己的帐户(参见以下ATM)。银行周六、周日及公共节假日不营业。

新西兰银行的主要业务和帐户如下:

往来帐户

用于日常开销的银行帐户。EFTPOS 卡 (参见以下说明)一般通过往来帐户转帐,由这个帐户支付各种费用。

储蓄帐户

银行储蓄帐户。银行为储蓄帐户支付少量利息。

定期存款/投资

固定期限的存款,利息比活期存款帐户高。定期存款期间一般不能取款,否则会受到罚款。银行对定期存款/投资开户有最低金额要求 (如1000 新元)。定期/投资存款的期限为30 天到5年。

银行卡

Bankcards allow you to access your accounts, through ATMs and use EFTPOS, without going into the bank. Whe您可以通过ATM 机使用EFTPOS,通过银行卡访问自己的帐户,无需进入银行。在银行开户时,您会收到银行卡的有关信息及使用方法。银行还会要求您选择个人身份号码的4 位数密码 (PIN),每次使用银行卡时需输入这个编号。请您千万不要向任何人透露自己的密码(PIN),即使是银行的出纳员!

信用卡

许多商店和餐馆可用信用卡付款。新西兰使用最多的信用卡包括Visa(维萨卡)、MasterCard(万事达卡)、Diners 卡和 American Express(美国万通卡)等,参见10 页说明。您购买商品或服务时的签名要与您在信用卡背面的签名进行比对。您也可以为信用卡选择一个密码 (PIN)来代替签名。您必须已满18岁,并且有过去的银行结算单和收入证明。因此,大多数新西兰学生没有信用卡。

妥善保管存折和信用卡

银行卡和信用卡要始终妥善保管。一旦遗失,应立即与银行联系注销。同时,还应向警察报案。有时,可以找到遗失的财产。离您住处最近的警察局详细联系方式,可在当地电话簿中查找)。

自动柜员机

ATM可以用来在银行外面存款取款。使用ATM时,插入银行卡,然后输入密码。您可以取款、查看帐户余额、在自己的帐户间转帐等。使用 ATM取款的金额有限制,一般为每天500新元。因此,如果您想以现金形式支付金额较大的帐单时,需到银行分理处办理全额提款。

EFTPOS – 销售点电子现金转帐

可供您以非现金形式支付采购款项。EFTPOS 是新西兰十分普遍的一种付款方式,为大部分商店、餐馆和商业机构所广泛采用。使用EFTPOS时,在专用刷卡机中刷过银行卡,刷卡机可以阅读卡上的磁条。您选择用于付款的 帐户,然后输入密码。货款将自动由您指定的帐户转入商店的帐户。您也可以用 EFTPOS取款。

电话银行

您可以用一键式电话接通银行的免费电话,随时通过电话访问帐户情况。

在线银行

您还可以随时利用计算机通过互联网查询银行信息。银行可以确保这种访问的安全。您开户后,银行工作人员可以为您设置在线银行帐户。

支票付款

您还可以用银行支票簿的个人支票来付款。使用支票付款时,如果您本人亲自支付 (不是通过邮件形式),需在支票上签名。一般只有年满18岁才能领取支票簿。支票付款方式没有EFTPOS用得广泛。

Money matters

New Zealanders do not carry large amounts of cash or keep it at home because it's considered unsafe (by large amounts we mean more than $300). Large amounts of money are kept in bank accounts. Bank accounts and your banking details are kept very private in New Zealand. Only you or an authorised user can access your bank account and banking details.

To make managing your money easier, it is recommended that your education fees are paid directly to the education provider where you are studying and your living money is sent to you monthly from China.
Don’t tell people about your financial situation. Personal finances are a private matter and not discussed in New Zealand, even amongst friends. If you are running out of money you should talk to the student welfare officer or department at your school or institution. They may be able to provide you with advice on what you can do. You should also talk to your family.

New Zealand Currency

The New Zealand dollar is the currency used in New Zealand. Dollars are divided into cents; 100 cents = 1 dollar. Symbols: $ = dollar, c = cents. The following notes and coins are in circulation: notes - $5, $10, $20, $50, $100, coins – 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, $1, $2.

Opening a bank account

Nearly all the major banks have international student packages and provide information about their services in Chinese. Many also have a Mandarin speaking international student advisor. Most banks will want to know that you or your family has a “banking history” in your own country. You should take a letter from your bank, some proof of your account, such as a copy of a statement, your passport and proof of your enrolment in a New Zealand education provider with you. Your education provider may already have an arrangement with a particular bank, which may make things easier for you.

Being careful with your spending

Be careful how much money you spend in your first two months until you understand a little more about the costs you will face in the coming months. This is to make sure you have enough money left until the end of your studies.
If you need help managing your money, talk to the student welfare officer or department at your education provider, for budgeting advice.

Lending – do not lend money to anyone

Bank charges

Banks charge fees to their customers for providing banking services (e.g. account maintenance fees and transaction fees). Banks are usually open from 9:00am – 4:30 pm Monday to Friday but customers are able to access their accounts 24 hours using Automatic Teller Machines (ATMs see below). Banks are not open on Saturday and Sunday, or on public holidays.

The following are the main services and accounts banks in New Zealand offer:
Current Account


A bank account for every day use. EFTPOS (see below) cards are usually attached to a current account and bills are also paid from this account.

Savings Account

A bank account for saving money. Banks pay small amounts of interest on savings accounts.
Term Deposit/Investment

A sum of money is deposited for a fixed period of time at a higher level of interest than is normally available from savings accounts. You cannot usually withdraw money during the fixed period of time, without incurring a penalty. Banks require minimum amounts (e.g. NZ$1000) to open a term deposit/investment. Deposit/investment periods range from 30 days to 5 years.
Bankcards

Bankcards allow you to access your accounts, through ATMs and use EFTPOS, without going into the bank. When you open a bank account you’ll receive information about your bankcard and how to use it. You’ll be asked to select your own 4-digit Personal Identification Number (PIN) which must be keyed in every time you use your card. You should never tell anyone else your PIN number, even a bank teller!

Credit cards

Many shops and restaurants accept credit cards for payment. The most common are Visa, MasterCard, Diners and American Express (also refer p. 9). For a credit card your signature on the back will be matched as you sign for the goods or services you are buying. You can also choose a PIN for your credit card, to use instead of your signature. Banks have specific requirements for issuing credit cards. You must be 18 or over and have previous bank statements and proof of income. For this reason, most New Zealand students do not usually have credit cards.
Keeping your bankcards and credit cards safe

Make sure you keep your bankcards and credit cards safe at all times. If you lose them make sure you contact the bank immediately to cancel them. Also let the Police know - sometimes lost property is handed in. See your local phone book for the contact details of your nearest Police station).

ATMs - Automatic Teller Machines

ATMs allow you to withdraw and deposit money without going to the bank. To use an ATM, insert your bankcard and enter your PIN. You can withdraw money, check your account balances, transfer funds between your accounts, and more. There is a limit to the amount of cash you can take out using an ATM, this is usually NZ$500 per day, so if you want to pay a big bill in cash, you'll need to go to the branch, to withdraw the full amount.

EFTPOS - Electronic Funds Transfer at Point of Sale

EFTPOS allows you to pay for purchases without carrying cash. EFTPOS is very popular with New Zealanders and is available in most shops, restaurants and businesses. To use EFTPOS, the bankcard is swiped in a special machine which reads the magnetic strip on it. You select the account you want to pay from, then enter your PIN. Money is automatically transferred from the account you selected to the shop's account. You can often use EFTPOS to get cash out too.
Phone banking

Using a touch-tone phone, you can dial a free number for your bank and have access to your accounts over the phone, at anytime.

Online banking

You can also do your banking from a computer on the internet anytime. Banks provide secure access for this. Bank staff can set online banking up for you when you open your account.
Paying by cheque

Payments can also be made by writing a personal cheque using a cheque book from your bank. If you are paying in person (rather than by mail), identification with your signature is required to make a payment using a cheque. You usually have to be 18 to have a cheque book. Cheques are not used as often as EFTPOS.