驾驶执照

在新西兰,年龄满15岁以上方准驾驶汽车。所有司机必须持有当前有效的新西兰驾照,国际驾照或海外驾照。海外驾照的有效驾驶期为12个月。有效期之后,需申办新西兰驾照。驾驶汽车时,应随身携带驾驶执照。

在新西兰驾驶摩托车必须持有摩托车驾驶执照。

获取驾照分三个阶段。您必须通过各阶段测验,及笔试和实践(驾驶)考试:

驾照分类:

学习驾照:学习驾驶时,必须始终有监护人(至少有两年正式驾龄)陪同驾驶。除非有监护人陪同,否则不得载客。

实习驾照:您可以在早5 至晚10之间驾驶汽车。其他时间驾驶必须有监护人陪同。除非有监护人陪同,否则不得载客。

正式驾照:您可以随时驾车并载客。

新西兰道路靠左侧行驶,避让右侧所有车辆。警察强制执行驾驶法规。违犯法规者将受到罚款、吊扣驾照、暂扣汽车等处罚,基至入狱。

您应该找一本《新西兰道路管理条例 (道路管理条例)》和《新居民与访问者 -新西兰驾驶条规定》的复印件,学习新西兰道路管理规则、交通标志和驾驶信号。您可以通过公路交通安全局网站获取《道路管理条例》和《56条规定》:www.ltsa.govt.nz。《道路管理条例》也在各大书店出售。

强烈建议您学习自我保护驾驶课程。这个课程可帮助已经有些驾驶经验的司机学会如何在新西兰安全驾驶。大部分城市和乡镇开设自我保护驾驶课程。有关这方面的资料可查看当地电信号簿的黄页,或与当地驾照办理机构联系。

小心驾驶

新西兰发生道路交通伤亡事故的原因主要有四个:驾驶速度过快,酒后驾驶,未系安全带和交叉路口未避让。

超速-驾驶速度过快

新西兰国道(城市及乡镇之外的公路)最高行驶速度不得超过100 公里/小时。这是允许您驾驶的最高时速。遇限速标志时,您必须减速行驶。除非时速标志明确可以提速行驶,城市乡镇驾驶时速度不得超过50 公里/小时。限速标志立在路旁,同一条道路可以有不同的时速限制。无论路旁是否有时速限制标志,您应该根据情况掌握速度,视线不清或雨天时应减速行驶。

酒驾

禁止司机酒后驾车。违反饮酒规定驾驶车辆属违法行为(触犯法律),将受到严厉处罚,包括吊销驾照,甚至进监狱。

酒驾

无论您坐在汽车前排或后排,必须系好安全带。司机和乘客应按法律要求自觉佩戴安全带。司机还应负责为15 岁以下儿童系好安全带 (不满5岁的儿童应佩戴儿童专用安全带。不系安全带将受到罚款。

遵守避让规定

掌握避让的原则对于您来说是非常重要的 (道路管理条例对此有相应的规定。参见以上说明获取道路管理条例的复印件)。否则,很容易在交通路口发生严重交通事故。

发生交通事故后如何处理?

如果您在驾驶过程中发生碰撞且未受重伤时,必须停车检查他人的伤势。如果有人受伤,应进行急救并拨打111 急救电话(如联系救护车)。同时要保护现场,避免其他车辆再次发生事故。发生撞车事故后,必须在24小时内通知警察。如果无人受伤,您必须在发生事故后48小时之内,尽快给另外被撞车辆的车主或司机及财产受到损失的所有人留下姓名和地址(及所驾车辆的车主姓名和地址)。
如果您找不到上述所有人,应在发生事故后60小时之内通知警察。

购买汽车 – 重要建议

购买汽车之前应认真考虑。留学生驾驶或购买汽车发生过不少问题,有些还很严重。购买一辆汽车要承担很大责任,并且是一笔不小的费用。应考虑一下自己是否真的需要,大部分新西兰学生认为汽车太贵。
汽车买到手后会很快跌价,卖二手车时很不值钱,或者您可能根本卖不出去。购买汽车后,一定要进行登记并办理质检 (WoF)。

车辆登记

您需要支付车辆登记费后,才能在公路上使用汽车。交费后,发给您一个注明登记有效期的标签。这个标签通常贴在汽车风挡上。您可以在任何公路安全管理机构办理车辆登记。有关资料请浏览:www.ltsa.govt.nz

质检

质检(WoF)是对汽车、货车、卡车及四轮驱动车(4WD)等机动车进行安全检查。车辆检查合格后,将 WoF标签贴在风挡上。您必须在标签有效期前接受车辆检查,换领新标签。无质检 (WoF) 标签或未达到质检标准的车辆不得上路行驶。
第一次登记后不满六年的车辆,每12个月质检一次。超过这个年限的车辆每六个月质检一次。

哪些单位执行车辆安全检查?

经过审批的修理厂和检查站负责车辆质检。可向当地加油站咨询您住地附近的车辆检查机构。

车辆保险

如果您购买汽车,需要为车辆投保。不满25岁的人,汽车保费通常比较高,同时还可能与您的驾车记录及车型有关。您可以有四种投保选择:

全险

承保事故、盗窃、火灾、破坏和暴风雨损坏及对他人车辆财产造成的损失。这个险种费用最高。

协议险

承保上述险,但您与保险公司商定车辆价值(当前市场价或零售价)及如果车辆损坏无法维修,您可以撤保情况下的应付保额。

第三者责任、火灾与被盗险

投保自身车辆火险、被盗险,以及给他人车辆或财产险造成的损失。

第三者责任险

投保您给他人车辆或财产造成损失。这个险种费用最低,但不包括您的车辆维修费。

第三者责任险

如果您的车辆未登记及/或已超过当前质检有效期,或未持有效驾照驾驶,发生事故时保险公司将不予理赔。
有关车辆保险的进一步资料,请浏览新西兰保险理事会网站: http://www.icnz.org.nz/consumer/motor/index.html

Driver licence

You need to be 16 years old or over to drive in New Zealand. All drivers must have a current and valid New Zealand driver licence, International Driving Permit, or overseas licence. You can drive on an overseas licence for 12 months. Anyone with a licence that is not in English must get an authorised translation.

After 12 months you need to apply for a New Zealand license. Carry your licence with you at all times when driving.

To drive a motorbike in New Zealand you must get a motorbike licence.
There are three stages to getting a licence. You must pass a test at each stage , that is, a written and two practical driving tests.

Licence conditions:
Learner licence When learning to drive, you must have a supervisor with you at all times when driving (a person who holds and has held a full licence for at least two years). No passengers unless you are accompanied by a supervisor.

Restricted licence: You can drive on your own between 5am and 10pm. To drive at other times you must have a supervisor with you. No passengers unless you are accompanied by a supervisor.

Full licence: You can drive on your own and take passengers at any time.

For more information on how to get a licence, see factsheet 45 Learning to drive: how to get your licence, available on the NZTA website: www.nzta.govt.nz

Printed brochures for what's different about driving in NZ: https://www.nzta.govt.nz/resources/driving-in-nz/ (multiple languages)

 

Rules and restrictions for driving in NZ: https://www.nzta.govt.nz/driver-licences/new-residents-and-visitors/driving-on-nz-roads/

 

In New Zealand we drive on the left-hand side of the road. The Police enforce the driving laws and there are penalties for breaking them such as fines, having your licence taken off you, your vehicle taken off you, or you can be sent to jail.

It is important that you get a copy of the New Zealand Road Code (the Road Code) and learn the road rules, traffic signs and signals for driving here. NZTA also has a factsheet for visitors to New Zealand: factsheet 56 New residents and visitors: driving in New Zealand. You can access both the Road Code and factsheet 56 through the NZTA website, go to: www.nzta.govt.nz. Copies of the Road Code can also be purchased through all larger bookstores.

It is highly recommended you complete a defensive driving course. These courses help drivers, who already have some experience, to learn how to drive safely in New Zealand. Defensive driving courses are available in most towns and cities. Approved course providers

There are two approved advanced driving courses. 

Defensive driving course

The defensive driving course is available throughout New Zealand. It is provided by trainers who are affiliated to the AA (New Zealand Automobile Association) Driving School.

AA Driving School
www.aa.co.nz/ddc (external link)
0800 223 748

Street Talk

Street Talk courses are offered through the New Zealand Institute of Driver Educators (NZIDE). They can be contacted at:

New Zealand Institute of Driver Educators (NZIDE)
www.street-talk.co.nz (external link)
0800 STREET TALK (787338)

 

Being careful driving

There are four main reasons why people crash or die on New Zealand roads: driving too fast, driving after drinking alcohol, not doing up their safety belts and not giving way at intersections.

Speed - driving too fast

The maximum speed on open roads in New Zealand (roads outside of cities and towns) is 100km/h. This is the fastest you are allowed to drive, and you must follow any speed limit signs that instruct you to slow down. The speed limit in towns and cities is 50km/h, unless speed signs tell you that you can go faster. Speed signs are well sign-posted and can change on the same stretch of road. Whatever the posted speed limit, you should always drive to the conditions – drive slower when it’s hard to see or if it’s raining.

Alcohol

The amount of alcohol that drivers under twenty years of age are legally allowed to drink before driving is so small that it is safer not to drink at all. Driving while over the alcohol limit is illegal (an offence), for which there are severe penalties, including having your licence taken off you, or going to jail.

Safety belts - seat belts

You must always wear your safety belt, whether you are sitting in the front or the back of the vehicle. Drivers and passengers are legally required and responsible for wearing their own safety belts. The driver is also responsible for making sure that children under 15 years of age are wearing their safety belt (children under seven years need to be in an approved child's car seat). There are fines for not wearing safety belts.

Failure to give way

It's very important that you know the give way rules (these are in the Road Code, see above for where to get a copy). Otherwise, you could be involved in a serious car accident at an intersection.
What happens if you have a car accident?

If you have a crash while driving and are not badly hurt, you must stop and check to see if anyone else is hurt. If someone is hurt, give first aid or find a phone and dial 111 for emergency services (e.g. an ambulance). You will also need to protect the scene to ensure that other crashes do not occur. You must also tell the Police no later than 24 hours after the crash. If no one is hurt, you'll need to give your name and address (and the name and address of the owner of the vehicle you are driving) as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours after the crash to the owner or driver of any other damaged vehicle and the owner of any damaged property. 
If you can’t find these owners, tell the Police as soon as possible and no later than 60 hours after the crash.

Owning a car - some important information

Think carefully before buying a car. Unfortunately some international students have had problems with driving or owning cars and some of them have been serious. Owning a car is a big responsibility and can cost a lot. Think about whether you really need one - most New Zealand students find they are too costly. Cars lose value quickly so that when you come to sell you may be disappointed with what money you get for it, or you may not be able to sell it at all.

Once you own a car you need to make sure that it is licensed and has a warrant of fitness (WoF). If your vehicle does not have a current vehicle licence and warrant of fitness you will be fined.

Vehicle licensing

You need to pay a licensing fee to use your vehicle on the road. When the fee is paid you receive a label showing the date it runs out. The label is usually put on the windscreen. You can licence your vehicle at any NZTA agent, for example, any New Zealand Post Shop. You'll need to renew the licence before the date it runs out. For further information go to: www.ltsa.govt.nz
Warrant of Fitness (WoF)


A WoF is a safety check for most cars, vans, utes and many 4WDs. If the vehicle passes, a WoF label is put on the windscreen. You must have the vehicle checked before the expiry date on the label to be issued with a new one. You're not allowed to drive on the road without a WoF label or if your car is not up to WoF standard. 
Vehicles first registered anywhere less than six years ago have a WoF check every 12 months; other vehicles have them every six months.

Who carries out the WoF safety check?

Approved garages and testing stations carry out WoF checks. Ask at your local petrol station for an agent close to where you are staying.

Vehicle insurance

If you buy a vehicle, you will need vehicle insurance. Insurance fees are usually higher for people under 25 years and may also depend on your driving history and the type of vehicle you own. You have four options:
Full cover standard

Covers accidents, theft, fire, vandalism and storm damage, plus damage to someone else's vehicle or property. This option costs the most.

Agreed cover as above but you and the insurance company agree on the value of your vehicle (current market or retail value) and the amount to be paid out if your vehicle is damaged beyond repair, when you take out the insurance.

Third party, fire and theft cover against fire and theft on your own car and cover against damage to someone else's vehicle or property.

Third party Covers damage that you cause to another vehicle or another person's property. The cheapest option, but doesn't cover the cost of repairing your vehicle.
Important

If your vehicle is not registered and/or does not have a current WoF, or if you are driving without a valid licence your insurance company will not pay out if you have an accident.
Further information about vehicle insurance is available electronically from the Insurance Council of New Zealand at http://www.icnz.org.nz/consumer/motor/index.html

Tourist/visitor/international student driving quiz in 4 languages:

 http://www.drivingtests.co.nz/roadcode/tourist/